Quinoa…

sxUcqkRjRGEZhTb5J9zQ_quinoa-9465
courtesy of food.com

What I love most about quinoa is that you can make it into just about anything, but mostly it is a great base. I have used it for several meals as the base ingredient.

IMG_4730

One of the first meals I made on this cleanse was the one above. I had a made a huge batch of quinoa and I knew I didn’t want to waste it so I started using it in everything, just changed the seasoning. For the recipe above I used plain quinoa mixed with chimichurri. I put a black pepper seasoned salmon fillet over it topped with chunky homemade guacamole made with avocado, chopped red onion, lime juice and salt to taste. So easy. So delicious.

IMG_4857

Like I said before, quinoa is SUCH a good base! Here I used it for the base of my breakfast bowl. I had just done a really hard, but awesome workout at Orange Theory (I’ll post more about that later) and I was starved. Because I had the quinoa I warmed it up threw that in the bowl seasoned with a little Tamari (gluten free soy sauce) and then added a handful of cherry tomatoes, half an avocado, two over-hard eggs and topped with some left over chimichurri. So good. So satisfying. And most importantly, quick and pretty easy.

So make a big batch of quinoa…it will save you time making a starch base and can be seasoned in a million ways. I hope I’ll post my sweet quinoa recipe soon!

Since quinoa is easy to make, I’ve included my recipe for chimichurri.

  • 1bunch parsley (most recipes call for flat leaf, but I used Italian and liked it)
  • 8cloves garlic, minced
  • 34cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 14cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 Lemon wedge(juice of)
  • 1tablespoon diced red onion
  • 1teaspoon black pepper
  • 12teaspoon salt

put all the ingredients either in a food processor or blender till desired consistency. I prefer a little chunky.

adapted from Food.com

Leave a Reply

