Eggs…

Making this kind of diet change can really feel like your options are limited. Especially when you tell people all the things that you can’t have and they say…so what do you eat.

One of my favorite things to eat has been eggs. Like quinoa they are incredibly versatile. You can eat them scrambled, fried, over easy, over hard, over medium, poached and even hard boiled to name a few. Several of my favorite recipes have been using eggs in their various forms.

Like the breakfast I made below. I cooked asparagus in a little extra virgin olive oil, poached an egg, chopped up some fresh tomato and added some cilantro dressing (leftover from a salad I made the night before) on top.

IMG_4763

I hope to get better at making poached eggs, because they are delicious and the challenge makes them fun to make!

I know I haven’t been posting as many exact recipes that people can replicate, but I don’t think I will. That has been the fun thing about changing my diet in this way. I don’t have to be limited to recipes. I can just go with what I think will taste good with the fresh ingredients I have.

That has always been my problem when it comes to specific diets. I feel like I can only eat certain recipes that are in this or that cookbook and it makes me stressed out and I eventually call it quits. I decided to try things a little differently when DF/GF/ASF/CF (Dairy free, gluten free, artificial sugar free, caffeine free :). Now I can be creative with the ingredients I can have and it doesn’t feel so restricted!

I’ll leave you with the recipe for the super delicious cilantro dressing with the link to The Garden Grazer‘s site where you can make her Southwestern Chopped Salad. Yum! It was a hit at my daughter’s birthday party.

Cilantro Dressing:

1 cup loosely packed cilantro, stems removed and roughly chopped
1/2 avocado (or 1/2 cup plain vegan yogurt)
2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice (about 1/2 lime), more to taste
1-2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup olive oil
1 1/2 tsp. white wine vinegar
1/8 tsp. salt
Recommended: agave/honey, cumin (I didn’t use these)

Directions
Make the dressing: puree all ingredients in a food processor/blender until smooth. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Feature photo courtesy of: Huffington Post

Leave a Reply

