Good Friends…

I have some amazing friends. Friends that I have known for most of my life and friends that I have known for that last few years. All of them awesome. It was actually one of my good friends that encouraged me to start this blog. (Thanks Cass) 😉

Among those friends are a very tight knit group of friends from grade school and high school. We have changed a lot since high school and grown in different life directions, but have remained close. I recently started reading Shauna Niequist’s book Present Over Perfect. A fabulous quick read for those interested.

51FJbzqwMYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

In her book, Shauna describes these types of friends as she writes…

“I was at a pool party with some of my oldest, most-favorite friends. I’ve known them since high school, so at this point they feel more like sisters. Anyone who knew you as an adolescent and still wants to spend time with you is a true friend, and really, their opportunity to blackmail you with stories of who you kissed and photos of you in overalls is enough reason to keep them around. We don’t see each other nearly often enough, but when we do, we fall right back into familiar rhythm, like a song we’ve been singing all our lives”.

Love that. Describes us perfectly.

But what I loved more about that chapter is how she goes on to talk about how when they were all sitting there they were wondering why they don’t get together more often and they all banter back and forth about the excuses of a busy life (kids, work, school, activities, etc). And then someone says…”But what are you going to do?”

That phrase really made me pause. I know the feeling of being busy. It’s been the story of my life for the last 20 years. But I realized when I read that sentence that in my busyness are my excuses. I’m always too busy or too exhausted from my busyness to exercise, eat right, rest properly and in general take care of myself. The more packed your schedule is the less time you have to take care of yourself.

I was also reminded of a quote that I put up on my desk a long time ago.

vow-jan-7-watermardke.jpg

So instead of saying…”Well, what can you do” or making another lame excuse, I’m choosing to be different, to eat different, and to take care of myself in a different way.

One way that I’ve done this has been with my friends, those super awesome high school friends I was talking about. We started a Facebook group to keep each other on track and share tips and tricks that keep us healthy and to be positive influences to each other and motivate each other to achieve our goals. Some are trying to lose weight, some are trying to gain and some are just trying to be the healthiest versions they can be for themselves and their families.

A key part of being successful is finding those who want to help you and support you along the way. I’m glad I’ve found my people.

 

Featured Image courtesy of: Pinterest

Quote Image courtesy of: New View Better You

Leave a Reply

