Mindfulness

For those of you who don’t know, I have a Masters in Social Work and basically had class after class about my feelings and your body and all that stuff.

The fact is…I should know what mindfulness is. But it was always just a concept. However, it wasn’t until I changed the way that I ate that I actually began to practice it and learn it as a way of life.

Let me explain…

For many of us food is just something that gives us the energy to make it through the day. It’s not often something that we think about and sit and enjoy. It’s something that we stuff into our mouths to get on to the next thing. It’s weird.

It wasn’t until I started eliminating things that I started to actually look to see what was in my food and analyzed why I was using those ingredients. For example, coffee.

Caffeine is one of the things I’ve eliminated from my diet. Now, I’m not against coffee. It’s delicious. However, when I drink coffee I don’t just drink coffee. i typically put in 2 Splenda and 1/4 cup of creamer. It’s not coffee. It’s breakfast dessert.

I started to really think about what I was doing. Do I need this? Not do I like this…but do I need it?

The answer is no. Sometimes it’s nice to have, but I don’t need it. It took me a good 20 days to ween off caffeine, but now it is so nice to not have to feel like I am reliant on it to get my body through the day.

I have heard a lot from people when they ask me what I eat that they couldn’t do it because they NEED….(insert whatever food). I used to say that too. I NEEDED pasta in my diet. I NEEEDED to be able to eat pizza every Friday.

The truth is, no I don’t need those kinds of foods. I LIKE those kinds of foods but I don’t need them. I just need food. So I choose to make that food stuff that makes me feel good and energetic and clean. Instead of the way I would feel after eating pizza or pasta…stuffed bloated and guilty.

Will I never have pizza again or regular pasta, probably not. But it’s nice to have a healthier relationship with it than needing something that doesn’t give me anything in return.

So my challenge to you is this. Try looking at your food before you eat it tomorrow. Ask yourself what this is doing for you. Are you eating it because you’re bored? Is it good or just something to eat? If you find yourself having negative answers to these questions, maybe it’s time to look at what you’re putting in your body. Especially if you can’t pronounce half of the ingredients. 🙂

Happy Hump Day Everyone!

Recipe to come tomorrow!

Featured image courtesy of: Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

