Trying New Things

I have only recently become more adventurous with what I’m eating. I feel like you have to be when you eliminate so many things. It’s important to experiment with different foods and to transform them into different things. Tonight was my first ever experience with purple cauliflower.

I had seen it at the store a few times, but had always said to myself that I probably wouldn’t like it so I might as well not waste my money. But a few days ago, I was feeling adventurous so I bought a head of this beautiful vegetable and made cauliflower mash.

Cauliflower mash, for those who haven’t tried is extremely similar to mashed potatoes. Now as a mashed potato enthusiast, I will tell you that they are not the exact same. Anyone who tells you they are is lying. They are similar and a good, healthy substitute but nothing will take the place of my beloved mashed potato.

On tonight’s menu with my purple cauliflower mash was oven roasted pork tenderloin and a mushroom Marsala sauce topped with a little arugula.

IMG_4876.png

The mash is incredibly easy to make. I boiled the cauliflower florets in reduced sodium chicken stock, then put the florets in the food processor and added the stock till I got the right consistency. Season with salt and pepper and that’s done.

For the tenderloin, I seasoned with salt and pepper. Then I seared it in a cast iron skillet and put it in the oven till it was the right internal temp. About 20 minutes.

For the sauce, I adapted the recipe from Recipe Tin Eats to make it dairy free.

Here is her recipe with my changes in italics.

Creamy Marsala Sauce
  • 2 tbsp butter (salted or unsalted) I did not use butter, but you could use ghee if you want
  • 5oz / 150g mushrooms, sliced (I used Swiss Brown)
  • ¼ cup finely chopped shallots or onion
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1½ tbsp flour  I used a little cornstarch to thicken
  • ½ cup marsala (Note 2)
  • 2 cups chicken broth, low sodium
  • 5 tarragon leaves (optional) (thyme is also lovely) (Note 3) I used thyme
  • ¼ cup cream  I didn’t use cream and I didn’t miss it!

I added a little arugula on top for a little brightness and dinner is served!

Bonus points, my husband loved it. 🙂

 

Featured image courtesy of: The Little Epicurean

2 Comments Add yours

  1. JJ says:

    Way to go Phant! Love your new blog!!

    Like

  2. Jessica Vaeth says:

    I love your blog! I have been trying to eat clean this year too but I have found myself getting out of it this summer. Your blog has inspired me to get back at it because I feel better when I do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

