Chickpeas…

I am a salt person. I love salty, savory snacks. I think that in the same way that there are dog people and cat people, there are salty snack people and dessert people. I could plow through a whole bag of cheetos in one sitting. I love my salt.

Funny story…

When I was growing up, my brother and I would leave dishes around the house. Typical teenagers right. But I would always get caught be my bowl would always have a salt shaker next to it. It’s an addiction and it’s bad.

Anyways…

When I changed my diet, I was so concerned that I wouldn’t be able to find a salty snack that I would actually like. I feel like there are plenty of snack geared towards the sweeter side, but not many good ones towards the saltier palates.

Then I discovered chickpeas…

I had always had chickpeas on salads or in hummus, but didn’t ever think of them as a standalone snack, but these are bomb! (well, if you’re another salty snack person like me that is!).

I initially came across this recipe when my mom told me about it. But like a typical daughter, I brushed it off like “thanks, mom” on with the rest of my life.

Well here I am a few years later loving this snack. So….Thanks, Mom! This time with sincerity!


Spicy Chickpeas

2 Cans Garbanzo beans

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional if you like them spicy)

1/4 c Tessemae’s Buffalo Sauce (optional if you like a hint of vinegar with your spice and if you can find this ingredient at the store).

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Mix all the ingredients together and spread evenly on a baking sheet

Bake for 30 minutes (longer if you want them more crunchy, I like mine a little softer)

Pull them out and enjoy your spicy savory healthy snack! So much better than a bag of hot cheetos!

IMG_4888

(Recipe adapted from The Daniel Plan book)


One last thing….

I included Tessemaes Buffalo sauce in my recipe and let me tell you a little more about it. If you have Tessemaes products at your grocery store or a Whole Foods near you, buy them. They are delicious, flavorful and healthy! More expensive than your typical dressings/marinades but it’s worth it!

Once again, I should have listened to my mom a long time ago (I’m going to regret saying that) because she told me about this product years ago and I didn’t appreciate it until now.

Tessemaes is Whole 30 approved and is sugar free, vegan, gluten free and vegan, which might make some of you say, so that means it’s bland. It’s totally the opposite! it will blow your mind!

My current favorites are the Buffalo Sauce, Lemon Garlic (great marinade for chicken and a perfect salad dressing!), Green Goddess, Ketchup and Teriyaki (which will be featured in my recipe tomorrow). So good!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

Leave a Reply

