Eating Out…

Man…eating out is my downfall. Sometimes life gets so hectic and busy that I can’t even remember what day it is let alone planning what I will have for my meals. It makes it even worse when your selection of food it limited.

In my previous life (I can say that if it’s been a month…right??), I LOVED fast food. No joke, I loved fast food. Like I would stash away the bag evidence before anyone got home. Like I would take out cash just so my husband couldn’t see that I stopped at McDonalds that day. Sad, but true.

I learned very quickly after starting this journey that I was either going to have to cook and prepare meals every.single.day. Or figure out what I could eat on the run. Liking having options, I set on the quest for the latter.

So here are some things/items I have found while eating on the run. Now keep in mind there is always fruit and almonds and that stuff, but this is stuff that is prepared for you and a little more complex.

Snacks

Here are two of my favorite snacks.

I constantly have snacks on me just in case I don’t end up in the Arby’s drive-thru in a hunger stupor or eating my steering wheel. Here are some that I love.

rxbar-peanut-butter.png

Rx Bar….Dang. These are good. Filling. Satisfying and don’t taste like your typical protein bar, which let’s face it usually taste like bark covered in sand and have a million calories. The only thing these bars have in them is listed on the front. Simple.

Here are the ones I like. Peanut Butter, Pumpkin Spice (like the Latte in bar form), Apple Cinnamon, Chocolate Coconut. I HATED the Mint Chocolate one. I actually gagged. So try if you dare. You can most often pick them up at Vitamin Cottage/Natural Grocers, Whole Foods and Trader Joes (nation-wide).

Next up, Synergy Kombucha.

ES_Trilogy.png

I will tell you Kombucha is an acquired taste, not for everyone. When you first open it, the smell is surprising, but just taste it. It tastes a little like fizzy, tart wine (it does have traces of alcohol in it), but it is a delicious probiotic drink with only 60 calories in most of them and it’s Gluten Free, Vegan, Non-GMO.

This isn’t necessarily a snack, but if you’re sick of drinking water and seltzer all the time this is a nice fruity, sweet, little tart break and it’s good for your digestion. 🙂 Also, you can’t think of it as a normal drink because it’s like….$3 a bottle. Also, don’t look how it’s made or you’ll never drink it. Seriously…I’m warning you…don’t.

These you can pick up from Target, Whole Foods, Natural Grocers, and/or the grocery store. Tons of brands out there. This is my favorite.

Lunch

Lunch is a hard one for me, because when I am working I rarely have time to eat it. But I have to if I want people to not hate me…because of the hanger (hunger/anger…for those not familiar).

Here is my favorite thing to pick up from Costco to grab on days when I haven’t prepared a lunch.

Good Grains

product-bag-chicken-quinoa-and-kale.png

Pop this sucker in the microwave for 3.5 minutes and you’ve got yourself a healthy, easy lunch. Now what I do to make it extra delicious is add avocado or fresh tomato, if I have them at home.  I also add a bit of salt (I already told you I’m addicted).

Last, but not least…

Restaurants

Here are some good places where you can find stuff that is delicious and good for you, especially if you don’t want just a salad.

Mod Market

Ok, so huge bummer for my midwest readers…you don’t have this restaurant. But for those in Colorado, Texas, Arizona and a couple other places, you do! And it’s great. Tons of options especially for those on special diets (Hey! I’m one of those annoying people now!) On their menu they list what kind of special diet it’s geared for and have only farm fresh, whole ingredients.

Chipotle

Awesome for special diets. Most things are gluten and dairy free and they don’t have sugar to anything either (unlike Chick-Fil-A that marinates their chicken in molasses, no joke). Great to go to in a pinch!

True Food Kitchen

For those of you who have this restaurant, it’s so great! Seasonal menu that focuses on whole ingredients and lists the special diet it’s geared for. I actually met a friend there for lunch yesterday and had the TLT (Tempeh, Lettuce, Tomato) with vegan mayo on gluten free toast with a Kale Salad on the side. So good! Shoutout to Becca for trying it with me! Love you lady! Also, sweet glasses. 🙂

Last one… and this is the shocker…but if you’re in a true hunger bind.

McDonalds

Ok hear me out. I haven’t gone totally crazy from the lack of caffeine. I took my daughter here for lunch one day. She goes bananas for the play place and I was hungry and if I didn’t eat something quick I was going to stuff her whole happy meal into my mouth piece. So I looked up the ingredients and found this….

The Artisan Grilled Chicken Sandwich

2015-04-01-1427893747-9903143-McDonaldsArtisanGrilledChickenSandwich-thumb

HOWEVER! In order to make it actually something I can eat, hold the sauce, take off the bun. So, for all of you that are truly, celiac-style gluten free, this would be no bueno. But if you’re a faker like me…it’ll do. Wrap the chicken breast and slice of tomato in the piece of lettuce and you can get out of McDonald’s without going HAM on your kid’s fries.

So there you have it. My short list (but long post) of my on the run/dining out adventures.

Hope it helps!

Thanks for stopping by!

Have a happy, health Labor Day weekend!

-Allison

 

Featured Image courtesy of: someecards

Leave a Reply

