BBQ Weekends…

I, like pretty much everyone else in the world, love long weekends. Having that extra day to do whatever you like is amazing. Maybe that’s hanging with friends and/or family, taking an extra day for rest and relaxation or doing something fun. I wish we could have one of these a month!

One of the downfalls of these types of weekends is the challenge of food. If you choose to spend time eating with friends you are often met with a cornucopia of fried carbs with a side of sugary or creamy something. Delicious, yes. But for me, I end up laying in my bed after a weekend of hard eating saying something like “that was a mistake” or “my diet starts tomorrow”.

For this holiday weekend, I tried to still eat similar fare as I would normally eat, just tweaked the recipes a little. Here are some that I tried.

I’ll start with Breakfast

This morning I was feeling a little tired on scrambled eggs, fried eggs. The typical egg dishes that I’ve been having. So I decided to go a little different direction.

I found a recipe on Pinterest yesterday (my favorite idea site in the world) for egg cups. I thought I’d give them a try and if they were great at least I’d have some leftovers.

There are a bunch of recipes out there for egg cups, most of them involve cheese and/or some kind of dairy. I’m not going that direction. The other thing most of them have is ham, but all the hams I looked at either had nitrites or sugar in them. That’s a big nope. So I went with prosciutto instead. Saltier and you know how I love salt!

So here’s what I came up with. The recipe is loosely based off of this recipe from The IMG_4917Endless Meal. I wish I would have taken pictures along the way, but forgot. Whoops!

 

Ingredients:

  • 12 pieces of prosciutto
  • Oil or cooking spray to grease the muffind tin
  • 12 eggs, divided
  • 6 asparagus spears, diced
  • 6 grape tomatoes, cut in half (I used yellow cherry tomotoes, just use small tomatoes)
  • A little pepper and salt to season along the way

Instructions:IMG_4913.JPG

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Great the muffing tin. (I sprayed with EVOO).
  3. Line each muffin tin with a piece of prosciutto. The package came with 6 long piece, I cut each one in half.
  4. Beat 12 eggs and season with salt and black pepper.
  5. Put a few pieces of the chopped asparagus and tomato in the cups. Don’t fill too full otherwise your cups might not stay together.
  6. Fill the cups with your eggs. I filled to the top, they bubbled over a bit, but not bad.
  7. Put in the oven for  30 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

 

Feel free to add whatever veggies sound good to you!


Next up Lunch/Dinner

Now I will wholeheartedly admit that I stole this recipe from my friend Cassie. She made it last weekend and I loved it so much that I made it this weekend again.

Turkey Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries

IMG_4911.JPG

My measurements for the ingredients are probably different than hers, but they turned out great! She also put hers on the grill, but my mixture was a little too wet so I went for the cast iron skillet instead. Both are great!

Ingredients

For the Burgers:

1.5 lbs of ground turkey

1/2 c of mushrooms

1/2 c of carrots

1/2 c of celery

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 egg (I added as a binder, but I don’t think you need it)

 

For the Sweet Potato Fries:

1 large sweet potato

Extra Virgin Olive Oil for the pan

Salt and Pepper to season

 

Instructions:

For the Burgers

  1. Put the mushrooms, celery and carrots in the food processor, pulse until minced.
  2. Combine minced veggies, ground turkey, egg, garlic powder, salt and pepper.
  3. Make into patties and put on the skillet/grill *Remember if you add the egg, I would go with the skillet, they will probably be too wet for the grill).
  4. Cook on medium/medium high heat until no longer pink

For the Fries

  1. Preheat the over to 400.
  2. Slice the sweet potato into sticks. The smaller, the crispier they will be.
  3. Coat with EVOO.
  4. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Place on a rimmed baking sheet
  6. Bake for 30 – 45 minutes depending on how crispy you like your fries.
  7. I also tossed mine halfway through to make sure they were evenly cooked.

 

To serve, I put mine on two pieces of butter lettuce with a slice of tomato and a little avocado mayonnaise picture here from Primal Kitchen. This stuff is baller! (Yeah, I just said baller. I also say killer, hella and dope. Sometimes, I say them all in the same sentence…if you’re lucky. 🙂

mayo1.png As you can see, it uses cage-free eggs and it’s sugar free, dairy free, gluten free, Whole 30 approved, Non-GMO. And It’s good!

Believe me, I will tell you if something sucks.

Like vegan cheese. I picked some up the other day and thought, what the heck, why not try it.

Gross. Not for me. It tasted like plastic. Next time I will add Almond milk cheese. Ketchup_web_size_1024x1024.png

 

I also used Tessemaes Ketchup. It’s a little spicier than regular ketchup. My husband says it tastes like marinara sauce, probably because it is a little chunkier than regular ketchup. I like it. Maybe better than regular.


Last recipe….Dessert

So I’ll admit, even though I’m a salt lover that I miss dessert a little bit. Specifically, chocolate. So I found this recipe on Pinterest and went for it.

Vegan Chocolate MousseIMG_4912.JPG

I see you…don’t turn up your nose until you try it. It was actually great! Sweet, chocolate-y and hit the spot. Even Andy like it!

Now I have seen mousse made out of avocados before, but this one seemed more appetizing to me so I went with it.

Here is the recipe, straight from Vegan Magic.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (400 ml) creamy coconut milk (silky smooth texture, high fat content – see update)
  • 5 Tb (1/3 cup) cocoa powder
  • 1 cup (tightly packed) soft dried dates (18 in this case)
  • a few drops of vanilla extract
  • 4 small ramekins, glasses or cups to serve

NOTE from Allison: Head over to her website for more delicious recipes, but also for her explaination of the difference between coconut milk form the carton and the can, as well as the difference between cream and milk.

Instructions:

  1. Refrigerate the can of coconut milk overnight to solidify and separate. Carefully turn it upside down, open and discard the transparent liquid.
  2. Pit and halve the dates (if they are not soft, place them for a few minutes in warm water until they start to soften, then drain and chop). Place them in a tall jug, add 2 rounded Tb coconut milk and blend with a stick blender on high (or put them in a food processor -A).
  3. If you don’t mind those tiny bits of date skin, you can just add the remaining coconut milk and cocoa powder and blend together until smooth, then finally add the vanilla (or your preferred flavoring). That’s what I did the first time I made it. The second time I wanted a smoother texture, so I strained the paste, then mixed in the rest.
  4. Taste and adjust the flavoring, if needed. Divide the mousse between the 4 ramekins and refrigerate for a couple of hours.
  5. Enjoy!

So there’s all my recipes for the weekend! I hope everyone is liking the blog! Leave a comment if you are or if you have suggestions or recipes I should try!

Have a relaxing and safe Labor Day!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

Featured image courtesy of: Meme Maker

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Never made sweet potato fries, I’ll have to give them a try. Look forward to reading everyday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

