You like it…you really like it!

I have had some awesome feedback the last few days about the blog! One of my friends even sent me a picture of one of the recipes he made! Oh it makes my heart so happy!

Sure, I have grand dreams of being a blogger that tons of people love and follow, but for now I’m so thankful that my people like it and are encouraging me to stick with it!

It has really been a great motivator for me to blog about my experiences with changing my diet. My husband actually came in our room last night and said, “It looks like you’ve found your thing” and I think I have. Sure, I’m not original with my recipes, but hey if you don’t want to go searching around for fun recipes to try I’m happy to try them for you and give you my honest opinion.

I was also talking with another friend today about the changes I’m making and I explained to her that this was the first time in my life that I haven’t been motivated by the scale. Sure, the scale has been changing but more importantly I feel better. I don’t have the guilt associated with my food choices, by limiting my selection of options I don’t have to stress as much about what I’m making for dinner. I would always try to make dinners that were “healthy”, but somehow got really off track most nights and dumped cheese all over everything and my gut and my sinuses hated me for it.

So here is a recipe that I made last night from Bravo for Paleo that was super easy and very few ingredients.

Lemon Rosemary Chicken with Roasted Sweet Potato and Brussel Sprouts

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

So I added the brussel sprouts at the last minute because I had some frozen ones leftover in my freezer. This was the first time my husband turned up his nose and actually said, “I don’t like this very much”. Brussel Sprouts definitely aren’t for everyone. They have a very unique taste. I love them. Always have. I was the weird kid that when my mom asked what I wanted for my birthday dinner I would almost always ask for brussel sprouts. And she was the smart lady that made them sound like a special birthday treat!

anyways…back to the reason you’re all here…the food!

Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 chicken breasts (I used bone-in, skin-on)
  • 1 1/2 sweet potatoes, cubed
  • 1 large lemon, squeezed
  • 1 large lemon, sliced
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary (I cut them in half so each breast had one on top)
  • 5 garlic cloves, crushed
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Add olive oil to a large cast iron skillet or to a roasting pan, and heat over medium-high heat. If using a roasting pan, you may need to use it over two burners. (I used the cast iron skillet)
  3. Sprinkle desired amount of salt and pepper over chicken breasts. Then place the chicken breast skin side down in the pan. Add the cubed sweet potatoes, and cook in pan/skillet for 4-5 minutes or until the chicken is browned. (Make sure to season your chicken well. I put the seasoning on the skin and when I took that off the meat itself wasn’t awesome)
  4. Turn the chicken over and pour lemon, rosemary, and garlic over the chicken and potatoes. Top with sliced lemons.
  5. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes, or until the chicken is done. This varies for each oven.

NOTE: I added the brussel sprouts in a separate pan and cooked them with the chicken.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The bonus of this recipe is that if your kids like sweet potatoes like mine then you have plenty of tender pieces to share with them! My little chipmunk loves’em! He event left some on his chin for later!

Hope you enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ptriez says:

    Yes and your momma made them for you even though she doesn’t really like them herself!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

