When Fall Feels More Like Summer…

I don’t think this is limited to Colorado but the weather here is wacky! It should be feeling like fall right?!? I’m so ready for soups and chilis and all things cooler weather, but it’s still 90 degrees out!

So to fit with the theme of the weather, I decided to make a summer-esque dish last night.

Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa and a Avocado Crema

These were really good. It was the perfect combo of spicy, salty, sweet and creamy. And it was packed with healthy ingredients!

When I talk about combinations of flavors and the balance of those flavors, I feel like all my years of watching Chopped have paid off. Dang, I love that show. I think I have seen every episode. I know that I would fail miserably if I ever went on it, but as a wanna-be foody I will continue to watch it like I have half a clue of what they are talking about.

Anyways, back to the recipe.

Ingredients

For the fish:unnamed

  • 2 Mahi-Mahi Filets cut into small pieces.
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon cumin ground
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

For the Mango Salsa:

  • 1 Mango – diced
  • 1 Red Onion – diced
  • 1/4 c chopped cilantro
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • Salt to season

For the Avocado Crema:

  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/2 c full-fat coconut milk (from the can) – I added a little coconut milk from the carton to make it thinner, but not necessary.
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 2 tbsp Lime Juice
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Instructions:

  1. unnamed-1Combine the seasoning for the fish and then coat each piece.
  2. Melt coconut oil in the pan over medium/medium high heat and then place each piece of seasoned fish and allow to cook for 1-2 minutes on each side. (The fish cooks really fast so make sure to watch it!)
  3. Place the fish on a plate and combine the mango salsa ingredients. Season with a little salt to heighten the flavors
  4. Place the Avocado Crema ingredients in a blender and add more liquid if it is too thick. Make sure to taste along the way to make sure it is seasoned to your liking.
  5. Place a tortilla (Gluten/Flour – whatever your preferance) or piece of lettuce (Romaine/Butter). Put 2 to 3 pieces of fish down, top with mango salsa and avocado crema. Viola!

unnamed (3).jpg

In closing, I would like to add one more note. A lot of people have asked me, since changing my diet, “so what does your husband eat?”. And I tell them, “exactly what I eat”.

That is met with utter disbelief by some and others a look of amazement with “Wow, I could never do that”.

I know it is hard for a lot of people to change their diet because someone in their family doesn’t like to eat “healthy ingredients” or “adventurous food”. I have a really hard time with that. It is very easy to let the fear of having to cook 2 or even 3 different meals deter you from eating health but it shouldn’t!

I know my philosophy is pretty staunch and not for everyone but here it is. We encourage our children to try new foods and to eat what they are given for dinner. Stealing one of my favorite phrases from my sister-in-law, “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit”. Why does this change for adults? It shouldn’t. If nothing else, adults are more capable of getting or preparing food if they don’t like what was made for them.

Sure, I get if someone has tried an ingredient and doesn’t love it, so you leave that out. I don’t love mushrooms but my husband likes them so I add them to the recipe but leave them off my plate. I don’t have to make a whole separate meal for both of us. And on the other side, my husband hasn’t been strict about his diet so he uses cheese and gluten when I can’t and it’s fine.

This isn’t meant to be a rant about gender roles or duties at home or even about marriage. I’m just encouraging people who feel that eating healthier is out of their reach because of picky eaters in their midst that it doesn’t have to be that way.

{Stepping off soap box}

I hope you enjoy the recipes. Please let me know if you give any of them a try!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

-Allison

Leave a Reply

