My first try…

I really enjoy trying different types of cuisine, but I rarely have the confidence to actually try to make it in my kitchen. That being said, my best friend sent me a recipe that she thought I should try for Butter Chicken from One Lovely Life, but when looking at the website I saw she had a recipe for Tikka Masala. I LOVE me some Tikka Masala, but the recipe on the blog was going to take waaaayyy too long so I modified so I could actually eat it sooner.

For those that have never tried Indian food and are hesitant because they think it might not agree with them or might be too spicy. It doesn’t have to be. Indian food has a great combination of sweet and spicy and very flavorful. I made enough so that we would have leftovers and it was gone within a day. So good! And pretty quick and easy.

If you have the time or prefer the slow cooker route, I would go with the recipe from One Lovely Life, but if you would like something quicker you could go with my tweeks.

Chicken Tikka Masala

For the chicken, I seasoned boneless, skinless chicken breast with salt and pepper and baked  at 450 degrees for 20 minutes. Make sure to check the internal temp and that it’s 165 degrees.

While the chicken is baking, work on the sauce and the rice (you may want to start the rice before the chicken depending on the type you are using and how long the package tells you it needs to cook).

Ingredients:img_5046

  • 1 – 1.5 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 2c cooked brown basamati rice
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh turmeric (or about 1 tsp dried)
  • 2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp dried coriander
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp chili flakes
  • ½ tsp salt
  • pinch cloves
  • 2-3 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 (14oz) can coconut milk (I prefer full-fat)
  • 1 cup broth or water
  • ¼-1/2 cup fresh cilantro, minced (for garnish)


Instructions:

  1. img_5047Place the chicken in the oven.
  2. For the sauce, heat coconut oil over medium heat, then cook the diced onion until translucent, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add ginger, garlic, turmeric, garam masala, coriander, cumin, chili powder, chili flakes, cloves and salt. Cook 1-2 minutes more, or until very fragrant.
  4. Stir in tomato paste, coconut milk, and broth (or water) and stir to combine.
  5. Once chicken is finished, remove from the oven and slice into pieces.
  6. Place cooked chicken in the sauce and let it cook together for a couple minutes.
  7. Serve chicken and sauce over rice, garnish with cilantro.

img_5049

I hope you all enjoy! And I have been loving the texts I have been getting of people trying the recipes! Keep letting me know!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

Leave a Reply

