Back on track…

Well it’s been a really long weekend. We went to Detroit for my brother’s wedding and it was a crazy, wonderful whirlwind. While the overall adventure was extremely wonderful it was not without it’s fair share of dramatics starting with hotel snafoo’s, the threat of rain and of course a Donald Trump rally in the same building to top it all off. But all that said, it was beautiful and fun and crazy and wonderful! Here are a few of my favorite pictures from the weekend.

I was really nervous going into this weekend with high hopes that I was going to be able to stay the course with the eating habits I do pretty well at maintaining at home. I planned ahead and ordered a different meal for the rehearsal and for the most part really did a good job of not going crazy…then Saturday happened.

I feel like traveling and special events are prime time for overeating and drinking and  unplanned meals. All the bad habits that I usually try to avoid and I overindulged in all of them. I ate things that I could have avoided and drank things that I definitely should have avoided. To top it off, Sunday rolled around and I was tired and lazy and kept the bad decisions coming…including a cheeseburger and tacos (lunch and dinner…not at the same time. I didn’t go that off the Richter scale).

I ended last night feeling sad. Sad that I made several poor decisions, but I ended the negative thoughts there. As I’ve written before, weekends like that would usually leave me so frustrated that i would just give up all together. But I woke up this morning and recommitted to myself that one weekend doesn’t need to ruin all progress. So I started fresh this morning.

I even made a  delicious chicken picatta tonight! Super quick and easy!

img_5149Ingredients:

  • Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast – pounded to an even thickness
  • Extra virgin olive oil to prepare the pan
  • 1/c cup of cornstarch, seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 1c chicken stock
  • 1/3c lemon juice
  • 1/4c capers, rinsed and drained
  • sliced lemons for garnish

Instructions:

  1. Heat up a skillet (I used my cast iron which is becoming my favorite) with extra virgin olive oil.
  2. Coat the chicken in the seasoned corn starch, make sure to pat off the excess
  3. Cook the chicken until light brown on both sides (about 3 or 4 minutes per side).
  4. After the chicken is cooked, add a little more e.v.o.o. if you need to but add the chicken stock, a little more season corn starch to thicken, lemon juice and capers. Whisk the ingredients together to make sure that the sauce thickens.
  5. Once it becomes thicker, add the chicken back in a let it finish cooking. Place the lemon slices on top to add more flavor. Let cook for about 5 minutes (it will depend on how thick your chicken breast is).
  6. Plate the chicken and spoon some sauce on top.
  7. Enjoy!

I love how bright and savory this dish tastes. It’s always been one of my favorites!

I’m glad to many of your are enjoying the blog. Hopefully I’ll be able to post more frequently now that I don’t have too many big things on my plate!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

 

Leave a Reply

