My Baby Turned 1!

On Friday, my son turned 1. I still can’t believe how fast the last year has flown by. A year ago, I wasn’t actually expecting that I was going to have my baby home with me. Camden came 3 weeks early and it was totally a God-thing that he came before his due date, because upon his arrival we found out that he had 2, count them, 2 true knots in his cord as well as having it wrapped around his neck twice.

I can’t imaging my life without this sweet boy. He is so loving and starts my morning off with a smile every day, even when it’s before 6am! I am so grateful that God has blessed me by being his mother.

Today, we celebrated his first year of life with a few of our friends and family before the Broncos game…which we unfortunately lost. šŸ˜¦ But Cam got a healthy serving of sugar, we got some laughs and the kids had a blast so all was well with the world!

After having a crazy week after my brother’s wedding, I knew that I didn’t want to do something too extravagant, but I absolutely LOVE cooking for my friends so I didn’t want to miss the opportunity.

I originally thought that I was going to end up picking up some food from somewhere after the busy week I had, but after stalkingĀ Culinary Hill’sĀ blog after finding it on Pinterest I found her recipe for most of Chipotle’s recipes and I was like…alright, I got this.

So I made, Copycat Chicken, Carnitas and Fajita Vegetables.

OMG…so good and believe me with these recipes..lots of leftovers.

These are the perfect recipes for a party. And these recipes are great if you would like to have a menu that is really, pretty healthy. Parties are always hard when it comes to eating healthy. There is usually lots of food, cupcakes and drinks. But if you plan accordingly, it doesn’t have to be something you dread or feel like its going to set you back.

Over the next couple days I will share the recipes and how I used them, the original recipes are fromĀ Culinary Hill. Most of my changes or additions are in parenthesis. All of which are Chipotle Hacks.

(side note) – I do sometimes create my own recipes, but usually these are on the fly and I haven’t been good about writing them down. I hope to get better at this in the future so I don’t have to just give reviews and my experience with recipes others have created.

Chipotle Chicken:

For the best results you should marinate the chicken overnight.

For this recipe, there are several different methods to get to the same ending. I decided to use ancho chili powder and to cook the chicken in a cast-iron skillet and then finish in the oven.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4c Ancho Chili powder
  • 1c water
  • 1 (7 ounce) can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (just the sauce – add peppers if you want it to be spicier)
  • 1 red onion, coarsely chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, plus more for oiling the cooking surface
  • 5 pounds boneless, skinless chicken, trimmed (I used thigh meat, but chicken breast can be used as well)

Instructions:

  1. Place Ancho Chili Powder in a food processor or blender.
  2. Strain adobo sauce into a small bowl. Only add the peppers if you would like to increase the heat level, otherwise just the sauce is great.
  3. Add red onion, garlic, cumin, oregano, 2 Tablespoons salt, and 2 teaspoons pepper to the food processor. Pulse until combined.
  4. Turn on the food processor/blender and add 1/4c of oil and 1c water (add more water if your paste is too thick).
  5. This will leave you with 2c of marinade. I saved 1 cup for a later use.
  6. Add half of your chicken to a large plastic freezer bag and pour in half the marinade. Close and mix with the chicken, then add the rest of the chicken and marinade to the bag and combine.
  7. Marinate at least 30 minutes. I marinated mine overnight and it really hightened the flavor.
  8. When you are ready to cook the chicken. Heat the cast iron skillet with extra virgin olive oil and place half the chicken in the skillet, cook on both sides. At least 5-10 minutes on each side depending on the thickness of the meat. (I placed the chicken in the oven at 350 until I was ready to serve).
  9. When you are ready to serve, let the chicken cool for a few minutes and then chop into smaller pieces.
  10. Enjoy!

img_5284

So yummy and we have leftover for lunch!

Check back this week for the rest of the tasty food we had today!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

 

Leave a Reply

