Oops…I forgot

I realized that I forgot to post the rest of the recipes I used for Cam’s birthday.

I made a crap-load of pork and actually froze half of it and our family is still enjoying it.

I really wanted to do a meal as close to Chipotle as possible and the best part about Chipotle recipes are that they are super easy, clean and healthy. You can go on their website and see their ingredients.

The carnitas is especially easy to make. All you need is a pork butt (I recommend about 4lbs. I used an 8lb one and now I have pork coming out of my ears even after serving half at a party) and a crock pot.juniper berries.jpg

It is only 3 other ingredients (other than salt and pepper). A sprig of time, a couple bay leaves and juniper berries. Now you typically won’t find juniper berries at regular grocery store. I found mine at Whole Foods. If you don’t have one in your town you can go online and order them off amazon. Click this link to find them. It’s an important ingredient if you want to get the taste right.

So here is the recipe…

Ingredients:

  • 4 lb pork butt with fat trimmed to 1/8 inch
  • 2 tbsp of whole juniper berries (add more if you have a larger pork butt)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme
  • 1/2 of water
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Season pork butt with salt and pepper on all sides.

2. Pour the water in the bottom of the crock pot.

3. Add herbs and berries.

4. Allow to cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8-10 hours.

 

I chose to cook it on low because I didn’t want to dry it out and I made the right choice because it was perfectly tender.

That’s it! Told ya, super easy.

img_5282

Lastly, I made sure to have the fajita vegetables. I love those things. I became addicted to them when I was on Weight Watchers because they were a great 0 point addition to my kids meal. 🙂

Once again, super easy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion, sliced into strips
  • 2 green peppers, sliced into strips
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • extra virgin olive oil for cooking
  • Salt and pepper to season

IMG_5283.JPG
Instructions:

1. Heat oil in a skillet

2. Place peppers and onions in the skillet

3. Season with salt, pepper and oregano

4. Cook until softened and slightly charred

 

Now you have a complete meal. Feel free to top as you see fit. Enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

