Whoops…

Have you ever fallen off the proverbial wagon. Well have you ever fallen off the wagon and then you were hit by the wagon. Then the wagon ran you over and backed up over you for good measure. That’s been me for the last couple months. Here’s what I feel like I’ve been doing…

unnamed.jpg

Drinking and eating donuts…

I had every intention of going to my brother’s wedding, taking a break for a few days and then going back to the life I had created. Unfortunately, lots of things got in the way. Work, stress, sickness, death, holidays, travel, etc., etc. It felt like everything was being thrown at me and each time I thought that I had gotten past an obstacle another came up. I kept telling myself that I would get back on track as soon as this obstacle passed. Unfortunately, this turned into two months of being off track.

Thank goodness, I kept working out at least a couple days a week and have only gained back about 5 pounds of the 20 I lost.

So you may be asking, (and even if you’re not, I’m going to tell you anyways) how do you feel Allison? In short…crappy. I feel tired, like all the time. I feel anxious and I feel sad. Sugar is a bitch and I wholeheartedly believe now that processed foods and refined sugars are the root of all evil. (I mean, they are delicious, but evil nonetheless).

I spent this Thanksgiving at my best friend turned family’s lake house. It’s a place that I love surrounded by people that I love and people who know me best. Here’s some of what I did there…

unnamed-2
These are some of my bests btw…(Cara (my sil from my non-blood brother, Mrs V. (my second mom), Laura (my ride or die since 2nd grade, Colleen (my IRL SIL) and my mommy)

Anyways, while I was there I was asked why I hadn’t blogged in awhile and I sadly said that I stopped because I felt like a fraud if I blogged about healthy eating and then didn’t do it myself. Thankfully, everyone told me that was ridiculous and that if I liked doing it, I should get back to it. So here I am. I haven’t been very good these past couple months, but I want to do better for all the reasons that I started.

I think too often we abandon our aspirations because we feel ashamed of our mistakes, but it doesn’t have to be that way. We all have those times in life where if seems like everything gets in our way and prevents us from being our best selves.  The important thing is to not give up. Take a break if you need it, but don’t let that break turn into a shame spiral where you never get back to your goals.

Maybe in reading this it will help some of you to get back to what you want, but mostly I just want my internal desires to be loud enough to get to my brain and turn into action.

So here’s what I did to give myself a nudge in the right direction. I went grocery shopping and bought food that is whole and good to my body. I signed up for 8 workouts at Orange Theory over the next 10 days. And lastly, I signed up for the Whole Life Challenge with my friends starting January 21st. If you haven’t heard of it, check it out here. So even if I don’t hold 100% over then next few weeks during the holidays, I have a safety net coming January 21st to hold me accountable.

Thanks for the support!

-Allison

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    I have missed you! Glad you started again and didn’t wait “until the first of the year”. We want to see your struggles too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

