Something easy…

For those of you who have kids, you know those weeks. This was one of those weeks. You know the ones where your kids are 90% jerky, little hellions with about 10% of nice in order to save them from being locked in their rooms until they are 30. Yeah it was one of those.

My three-nager daughter would break down because of something completely reasonable like I made her wear a shirt today and my one-year old son would actually go from completely happy to uncontrollable screaming in order to be a support to his older sister. And all of this was not within the constraints of day time. Last night, my husband and I pulled at fun-filled, teeth grinding, bad dream having, all-nighter with our daughter. 5bda238d8a63605d4355f60f5fc730dd7726bcadc3ffda4d4314259d4985304f.jpg

Hence the reason my husband sent me this today.

Oh how I love that man. He gets me. Especially when he speaks to me in memes and gifs. Makes my day. (No joke, we actually have entire gif conversations…be jealous. And if you don’t know what gif’s are, you should ask someone from generation z….just kidding they are the little pictures that move).

 

No joke, these are two separate conversations we have had at different points in the last 6 months.

img_5979                                    img_5978

Be jealous…

Anyways, my point in all this is, when weeks are hard (which it feels like they have been as of late) look for the things that are good and make you happy.

And when it comes to food, go for the easy.

Here is a meal I posted a couple days ago and some people have been asking about it. This is not my recipe. I totally yanked it from my good friend Cara. But it is super easy to take the base of quinoa and make it your own.

That is the beauty of quinoa. It can be sweet or savory and pairs with just about anything.

So here is the recipe I adapted. Mind you, I made a HUGE batch of this so that I would have plenty of leftovers for lunches and such. So feel free to cut it in half if you don’t need that much.

Quinoa with Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Kale and Goat Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 4c Cooked Quinoa (any kind will do)
  • 4c Chopped Kale (make sure to make sure to get rid of the stems)
  • 2c Shredded Chicken (I broke down a small rotisserie chicken…like I said, easy)
  • 1c Sun-Dried Tomatoes
  • 1c Goat Cheese (optional)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Cook the quinoa based on the package instructions making sure to season the water with 1 tsp of salt.
  2. Once the quinoa is cooked, add handfuls of kale until it all is wilted and combine.
  3. Add the shredded chicken and sun-dried tomatoes and combine. Season with salt and pepper and whatever  other seasoning sounds good to you. I actually added cardamom and turmeric….weird but it was good.
  4. Finally add the goat cheese if you like. Or you can top when serving if not everyone likes goat cheese.
  5. Enjoy!

IMG_5977.JPGLast note…

When I enjoyed the leftovers, I actually decided to add some Tessemae’s Buffalo Sauce. Oh my word…so good.

And remember during the hard weeks, look for the things that never fail to help you find your happy.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Allison

 

 

Leave a Reply

