New Year…Same Me

Well the holidays are finally over. Don’t get me wrong, I love the holidays and what they represent but I have never been someone that can be in the “holiday spirit” for that long. I’m lucky if I can last the week before Christmas to New Years. My husband often calls me “grinchy” because I suck at giving presents, I never follow through on most of the traditions that I want to start and I’m usually in a tense relationship with food so I feel bad about what I’m eating the whole time.

This year was no different.

I still suck at gift giving. I wish I was a good gift giver, but I overthink it and don’t have enough money to actually give what I want so I end up being that person that gives a side hug and says “Merry Christmas!” and runs away before someone can give me something. And please, spare me the “it’s the thought that counts”. We all know if I gave you a shitty gift, even if I gave it to you with a smile, you would still go home and tell someone about it.

It has really boiled down to the fact that I get so in my head about gift giving that I actually hate it. I’m not consistent with it. I forget birthdays most years and when the holidays roll around you have to spend a million dollars to get something for everyone. I’m so in my head that I even feel bad giving cookies. I feel like I’m giving someone a trigger in a bag. Well at least that’s what cookies and holiday treats are for me. I’m probably just projecting, but that’s where I am.

So that’s where I am with holidays. I don’t often express these things during the holidays to anyone other than my husband because of the aforementioned “grinchyness”. But it feels good to get off my chest. 🙂

That brings me around to New Years. I have a love hate relationship with New Years. I think the idea of trying to stay up till midnight just to kiss someone you probably kiss every day and say a phrase is a little dumb. I’m not a big drinker or partier and I really hate staying up late. Always have, always will. My best friend has plenty of stories of my hatred of late night sleepovers, but she’s a better story teller so maybe I’ll have her break some out someday.

Here’s what I do love…

I love that a new year is starting and I get to begin anew. My favorite part about the new year is that I get to start a new planner! Ugh the beautiful thing that happens when you get to start a new planner. It’s up there with the joy I felt when my children were born or on my wedding day. Not really (yes, really).

I love resolutions too. And as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten smarter about them and I’m happy to say that I’ve actually completed most of my 2016 resolutions, which included experiencing new restaurants each month (went to 12 new ones!), read a book a month (actually read more than that!), meal plan (ok, still working on this but I did really well), work on my authenticity (this blog has really helped with that). That’s really the farthest I’ve gotten with resolutions ever and I’m pretty proud.

So here’s my focus this year… drumroll for the cliche!…..WELLNESS!

Ok…it’s not, “I’m going to lose 50 lbs by next year! and be a staple at the gym! and only do wheat grass shots for nutrients!” I’m working on my whole person wellness. Spiritual, Mental, Physical and Financial. More than anything, I want to learn more about who I am and be true to that person. I want to apologize less and experience and learn more. I want to be kind, but be real at the same time and above all I want to be a more compassionate person this year. I think this year will have it’s challenges…I won’t go into details, but I’m sure some of you know…and I don’t want those challenges to turn me into a spiteful person. Personally, I want to show the love of Christ to everyone, especially those I disagree with. And on top of all that, I want to see the good that happens every.single.day.

So now it’s out there. I’ve said it and I can be held accountable for it.

Lastly, I’m back to GF/SF/DF! Not completely caffeine free, but I’m off coffee and on to tea!

Here’s an awesome breakfast frittata I made yesterday. Breakfast is always the hardest, but this one was just as good the day after I made it!

Asparagus, Tomato and Prosciutto Frittata

Ingredients

  • 1tsp olive oil
  • A bunch of asparagus – trimmed
  • 1c yellow cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 package prosciutto, diced
  • 8 eggs
  • 1/4c water (or milk if you’re not dairy free)
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1tsp pepper

Instructions

  1. Preheat the over to 350 degreesimg_6149
  2. Cook the asparagus in the olive oil until tender on medium – high heat
  3. Remove the asparagus
  4. Whisk together eggs, water, salt and pepper
  5. Place the eggs in an oven safe pan and allow to cook for 3-5 minutes on medium heat until edges are getting done
  6. Sprinkle prosciutto and tomatoes in the  eggs and then place the asparagus in the eggs in a circular pattern.
  7. Once all ingredients are placed, put the pan in the oven for 7-10 minutes or until the eggs have set
  8. Viola!

 

Lastly, I have also resolved to post a least once a week! So you won’t have to go so long until you hear from me!

Thanks for listening!

Love,

Allison

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kat Downs says:

    Yeah girl! We can do this. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

